top of page
  • Writer's pictureRaúl Revuelta

Schladming Night Slalom Preview

Updated: Apr 16

Every year on the Tuesday after Kitzbühel, Schladming stages the traditional Night Slalom.

This season, after the cancellation of the men's World Cup races in Garmisch Partenkirchen, Schladming will held also a Giant Slalom.

Schladming (AUT)

January 24th Slalom / Men 1 run 17:45 / 2 run 20:45 CET

January 25th Giant Slalom / Men (replaces Garmisch Partenkirchen) 1 run 17:45 / 2 run 20:45 CET

Schladming is a small former mining town in the northwest of the Austrian state of Styria.

The ski resort named Planai is the main mountain in the Schladming area. It is one of four adjoining mountains, which includes Hauser Kaibling, Hochwurzen, and Reiteralm, connected under the name Schladminger 4-Berge-Schaukel a ski area of 123 km of beautifully prepared pistes.

The Schladming-Dachstein World Championship Region has held various skiing competitions, including most notably the FIS Alpine World Ski Championships 1982 and the FIS Alpine World Ski Championships 2013.

Schladming-Dachstein is part of the Ski Amadé ski domain, a network of 28 ski areas and towns that combined, make up the second-largest ski area in Europe. With only one lift pass you can ski on 760 kilometers of slopes served 270 modern lifts, spread out throughout the top five ski regions of Salzburger Sportwelt, Schladming-Dachstein (including the Dachstein Glacier at 2,700 m), Gastein, Hochkönig, and Grossarltal.

In 2020, the first year without Marcel Hirscher, was again the time for Henrik Kristoffersen who earned his fourth World Cup win in Schladming, over his contenders Alexis Pinturault (second +0.34) and Daniel Yule (third +0.83).

In 2021 in an exciting race in Schladming Austrian Marco Schwarz claimed his second career World Cup slalom victory. He finished ahead of the French duo of Clement Noel and Alexis Pinturault.

Last season in a thrilling race under the floodlights, German Linus Strasser won the Night Slalom in Schladming. He finished ahead of Atle Lie McGrath by a mere +0.03 seconds.

Manuel Feller finished +0.39 seconds behind Strasser. Feller who was 28th in the first run made up 25 positions overcoming a 1.95 seconds deficit and thus clinched his second podium of the season in Slalom after a dream second run.

Schladming Night Race 2022. Picture: OK Weltcup Alpin Schladming and Martin Huber
Schladming Night Race 2022. Picture: OK Weltcup Alpin Schladming and Martin Huber

bottom of page