top of page
  • Writer's pictureRaúl Revuelta

Madonna di Campiglio Night Slalom Preview

Updated: Dec 22, 2022

There is one last race on the World Cup before Christmas, the legendary Night Slalom on the demanding "Canalone Miramonti" in Madonna di Campiglio.

The Skiarena Campiglio Dolomiti di Brenta, the largest ski domain in Trentino with 156 kilometers of slopes, extends over three intrelinked ski areas: Madonna di Campiglio, Val Randena-Pinzolo, and Folgarida-Marilleva. In the heart of the Brenta Dolomites, the ski area streches from 850 to 2500 meters.

Madonna di Campiglio is the oldest Italian World Cup venue, as they hold a Slalom in 1966-67, the year of the foundation of the World Cup. More than 50 years later, the event is still running and attracting thousands of people for the traditional night race on the 22nd of December.

After the fabulous last editions the 3Tre, among the most historical competitions of the White Circus, gets back as a fixed stage on the Canalone Miramonti slope.

Next Thursday the lights will turn on again on Canalone Miramonti, which hosts the 69th edition of the 3Tre Fis Ski World Cup Men's Night Slalom.

Madonna di Campiglio (ITA) December 22nd Slalom / Men. 1st run: 17:45 -2nd run 20:45 CET

Last season Sebastian Voss-Solevaag won the last race of 2021 in Madonna di Campiglio.

Alexis Pinturault achieved in Madonna his first and only podium in slalom finishing 0.10 seconds off the winning pace.

Kristoffer Jakobsen finished in third place, +0.11 seconds behind the Norwegian skier.

Switzerland's Daniel Yule (2018-2019, and 2019-2020) was the last man to win the Slalom here in successive seasons.

In 2019 Henrik Kristoffersen took the win on the "Canalone Miramonti" in Madonna di Campiglio. It was his third win (2015, 2016, and 2020) at this venue.

Kristoffersen was joined on the podium by his teammate Sebastian Voss-Solevaag +0.33 behind and Alex Vinatzer +0.34 off the pace.

Only Ingemar Stenmark (5) has won more World Cup slalom events in Madonna di Campiglio.

Ingemar Stenmark (8), Alberto Tomba (7) and Bojan Krizaj (6) are the male skiers to have achieved the most podium finishes in Slalom in Madonna di Campiglio.

Lucas Braathen won the first Slalom of the season held in Val d'Isére.

It was Braathen's third victory and sixth podium in the World Cup. It's his second win and third podium in the discipline. He won the Slalom in Wengen on January, and finished in second place in Kitzbühel.

The last man to win the first two slaloms of the season was Marcel Hirscher in 2018-2019.

Manuel Feller finished in second place, +0.84 seconds behind the Norwegian. It's his 12th podium in the discipline and his 16th in the World Cup.

Loïc Meillard finished in third place +0.98 seconds back. It's his 10th podium in the World Cup the third one in the Slalom.

Last season there have been eight different winners in ten races -Clément Noël, Sebastian Foss-Solevåg, Johannes Strolz, Lucas Braathen, Dave Ryding, Linus Strasser, Henrik Kristoffersen (2), and Atle Lie McGrath (2)-, and the 27 podium places have been divided by 16 different athletes (only multiple podiums by Kristoffer Jakobsen, Lucas Braathen, Manuel Feller, Linus Strasser, Henrik Kristoffersen, Dave Ryding, and Clément Noël, and Atle Lie McGrath), matching a record set in 1985-1986.

Only in 1985-1986 (9) and 1999-2000 (9), there were more different men's slalom winners in the World Cup.

Norwegian skiers won six of the ten men's World Cup slalom events last season: Henrik Kristoffersen (2), Sebastian Foss Solevåg, Lucas Braathen, and Atle Lie McGrath (2).

Norway can become the first country since Italy in 1994-1995 (9, all by Alberto Tomba) to win six successive men's slalom World Cup events: Henrik Kristoffersen (2), Atle Lie McGrath (2), and Lucas Braathen.

Last season Henrik Kristoffersen won his third Slalom Crystal Globe. He previously won the title in the 2015-2016 and 2019-2020 seasons. He is the seventh man to win the Slalom Crystal Globe more than twice.

Kristoffersen has won 21 World Cup Slalom events, the last one in Garmisch-Partenkirchen on 27 February 2022, ranking him fourth on the men's list behind Ingemar Stenmark (40), Alberto Tomba (35), and Marcel Hirscher (32).

Kristoffersen's 21 World Cup wins in the men's Slalom are already the most for a Norwegian skier in a single discipline (17 by Aksel Lund Svindal in men's Super-G).

Clément Noël became Olympic champion in Slalom at the Beijing 2022 Winter Games.

Noël (9) is joint-second alongside Patrick Russel (9) in France's all-time list for most slalom victories in the men's World Cup, behind only Jean Noël Augert (13). Noël and Russel (both 17) are also tied in second place for most World Cup slalom podiums among French male skiers, behind only Augert (21).

Last season Atle Lie McGrath won the last two Slalom races in the men's World Cup, in Flachau (9 March 2022) and Méribel (20 March 2022).

Norwegian skiers have won each of the last five slaloms in the men's World Cup. Henrik Kristoffersen won both Slalom races in Garmisch-Partenkirchen (26-27 February 2022), McGrath the last two of the 2021-2022 season, and Lucas Braathen the Opening Slalom in Val d'Isére.

Manuel Feller finished runner-up in the final World Cup standings in this discipline last season without winning any of the 10 slalom events. He came second once and finished in third place on three occasions.

Feller could become the fourth Austrian man to win a Slalom World Cup event in Madonna di Campiglio, after Marcel Hirscher (2012, and 2017), Thomas Sykora (1996) and Mario Matt (2000).

Alexis Pinturault's last podium finish in a men's slalom World Cup event was a second place in Madonna di Campiglio in December 2021. The last time he won in a World Cup Slalom event was in Val d'Isère in December 2019.

Only Italian skiers (9) have won more times in Madonna di Campiglio than Norwegians (7). Norway can win the Night Slalom three times in a row for the first time (Kristoffersen won in 2020 and Sebastian Foss Solevåg in 2021).

Austria 128, Italy 74 and France 67, are the nations that have won a slalom event in the World Cup the most times.

bottom of page