top of page
  • Writer's pictureRaúl Revuelta

Lake Louise Alpine Ski World Cup Super-G Races Preview

Updated: Apr 16, 2023

Matthias Mayer won last World Cup Super-G event held in Lake Louise on 1 December 2019.
Matthias Mayer. Lake Louise. Picture: HEAD Ski

The Super-G at Lake Louise has been dominated by Norwegian skiers. Up to 9 times the Attacking Vikings have won the event in Canadian soil. Kjetil Jansrud three times (2014, 2017, and 2018) and Aksel Lund Svindal six times (2005, 2007, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2015). Svindal, in November 2015, was the last man to win the Downhill and Super-G World races in Lake Louise in the same weekend.

Matthias Mayer won last World Cup Super-G event held in Lake Louise on 1 December 2019. He have two more wins on Super-G in the World Cup, in Saalbach-Hinterglemm on February 2015, and Kitzbühel on January 2017.

Hermann Maier, winner of the Lake Louise Super-G in 1999, 2000, 2003 and 2008, is the only Austrian to have won more than once the Super-G race in Lake Louise.

Mayer has won two Olympic gold medals in the Super-G in PyeongChang 2018 and Beijing 2022.

Aleksander Aamodt Kilde won his second Super-G crystal globe last season, after winning it for the first time in 2015-2016. Kilde is the seventh skier to win the Super-G crystal globe more than once, and the third from Norway after Aksel Lund Svindal (5) and Kjetil Jansrud (3).

Kilde won four World Cup Super-G races last season, in Beaver Creek, Val Gardena, Bormio, and Kvitfjell. He joins the exclusive group of male skiers with more than three Super-G wins in a single season with Hermann Maier (4 in 1997-1998, 1998-1999, and 1999-2000) and Svindal (4 in 2012-2013).

At the Beijing Winter Games, Kilde took bronze in the Super-G behind gold medallist Matthias Mayer and silver medallist Ryan Cochran-Siegle.

Aleksander Aamodt Kilde (590) finished last season Super-G standings 118 points ahead of Matthias Mayer (290). Vincent Kriechmayr finished in the third position.

He has won seven Super-G World Cup events, the same number of victories Vincent Kriechmayr has, the most among active male skiers.

Kilde's best result at a Super G World Cup in Lake Louise was a fourth-place finish in 2017. The Norwegian men have won the Super G here a record nine times.

Vincent Kriechmayr won the final Super-G of last season in Courchevel. He claimed two of his seven World Cup Super-G wins at the World Cup Finals, in Åre in 2018, and in Courchevel 2022. Among Austrian Men, only Hermann Maier (24) has won more super-G World Cup events than Kriechmayr.

Vincent Kriechmayr is the only man to have finished in the top-10 in each of the last 10 World Cup Super-G events. The Austrian claimed three Super-G podiums in the 2021-2022 World Cup season, third places in Val Gardena and Bormio, and first place in Courchevel.

Kriechmayr finished second in 2018, and third in 2019, in the Super-G in Lake Louise.

Marco Odermatt won the Overall World Cup and the Giant Slalom crystal globe last season. His seven wins in World Cup events in 2021-2022 were only matched by Aleksander Aamodt Kilde.

On December 2, 2021 Marco Odermatt won the first Super-G of the season in Beaver Creek. He finished ahead of Matthias Mayer and Canadian Broderick Thompson.

Odermatt has won the opening World Cup event in this season, the men's Giant Slalom in Sölden on 23 October.

The 25-year-old has won four super-G World Cup events in his career, third-most among Swiss men, behind Pirmin Zurbriggen (10) and Didier Cuche (6).

The Swiss has yet to finish on the podium of a World Cup Super-G in Lake Louise. His best result here was a seventh place in December 2019.

In 2019, Dominik Paris finished second in the Super-G held in Lake Louise. The Italian also finished on the podium in the Canadian venue, in third place, in the Super-G in 2014. No Italian has won in this discipline in the Alberta's Rockies ski resort.

Two Canadians finished on the podium in the Super-G last season. James Crawford finished second at Kvitfjell on March 6 and Broderick Thompson was third in the first Super-G of the season at Beaver Creek on December 2.

Canadian men who have won the Super G World Cup in Lake Louise are John Kucera in 2006 and Manuel Osborne-Paradis in 2009.

2019 Matthias Mayer (AUT)

2018 Kjetil Jansrud (NOR)

2017 Kjetil Jansrud (NOR)

2015 Aksel Lund Svindal (NOR)

2014 Kjetil Jansrud (NOR)

2013 Aksel Lund Svindal (NOR)

2012 Aksel Lund Svindal (NOR)

2011 Aksel Lund Svindal (NOR)

2010 Tobias Gruenenfelder (SUI)

2009 Manuel Osborne-Paradis (CAN)

2008 Hermann Maier (AUT)

2007 Aksel Lund Svindal (NOR)

2006 John Kucera (CAN)

2005 Aksel Lund Svindal (NOR)

2004 Bode Miller (USA)

2003 Hermann Maier (AUT)

2002 Stephan Eberharter (AUT)

2000 Hermann Maier (AUT)

1999 Hermann Maier (AUT)

1991 Markus Wasmeier (GER)


bottom of page