top of page
  • Writer's pictureRaúl Revuelta

Killington's Giant Slalom Preview

Updated: Mar 18

Marta Bassino won the last Giant Slalom held in Killington in 2019.

In 2016 she finished on fourth place, out of the podium by a mere 0.02 seconds.

Bassino won the Giant Slalom Crystal Globe in 2021. After being the most consistent racer in the discipline in the 2020-2021 season, last season she failed to show the same consistency and win a Giant Slalom race. But she finished in a good shape the competition with two second places in the Finals in Courchevel-Meribel and in Åre. Bassino was on the podium twice more last season with two third places at Courchevel in December 2021 and Kranjska Gora in January 2022.

The 26-year-old Italian has won five Giant Slalom World Cups. She claimed her victories in Killington, Sölden, Courchevel and Kranjska Gora (2). The three Italian women with the most victories in Giant Slalom are Deborah Compagnoni (13), Federica Brignone (8) and Denise Karbon (6).

Last season Mikaela Shiffrin won the Alpine Ski World Cup Women’s race opener in Sölden, Tirol, Austria.

Mikaela Shiffrin won both World Cup Slalom races in Levi and she can become the first woman to win the first three World Cup races of a season. In 1979-1980, Marie-Theres Nadig won three events (Downhill, Giant Slalom, and Alpine Combined), but the alpine combined classification was made up of the results of two races, the Downhill and Giant Slalom events.

Shiffrin has won 76 World Cup events. After her back-to-back victories in Levi she is two steps closer to Lindsey Vonn (82) as record holder among women. The only man to have won more World Cup events is Ingemar Stenmark (86).

Mikaela Shiffrin has claimed 14 World Cup victories in the Giant slalom. She is fourth in the women's list for most World Cup wins in the Giant Slalom behind Vreni Schneider (20), Tessa Worley (16), and Annemarie Moser-Pröll (16).

In 2019 Mikaela Shiffrin won the Giant Slalom Crystal Globe. She was the first alpine ski athlete to win the following combination of World Cup Crystal Globes in a single season (2019): Overall, Slalom, Giant Slalom, and Super-G. After winning her first Super-G race at Lake Louise in December 2018, Shiffrin became the first athlete in FIS Ski World Cup history to win in all six disciplines.

In 2018 Mikaela Shiffrin won the gold medal in Giant Slalom in the Pyeongchang Olympic Winter Games.

The American superstar won the silver medal in Giant Slalom in the FIS Alpine World Ski Championships held in Cortina in 2021. She also has won a bronze medal in Åre 2019 and another silver in St. Moritz 2017.

Shiffrin has won five World Cup events in Killington, but all her wins were in the Slalom event. In Giant Slalom she was on the podium twice, second in 2017, and third in 2019.

Last season Tessa Worley won the Giant Slalom Crystal Globe.

It's her second World Cup title after winning the Giant Slalom Crystal Globe in the 2016-2017 season. She is also the second French female skier -Carole Merle won the discipline's title in 1991-1992 and 1992-1993-, to win two times the women's Giant Slalom globe.

With 16 victories, Tessa Worley is in second place, tied with Annemarie Moser-Pröll, on the women's list for most World Cup wins in the Giant Slalom. Vreni Schneider tops this list with 20.

Tessa Worley claimed the gold medal in Giant Salom at the 2013 Schladming and 2017 St. Moritz FIS Alpine World Ski Championships. She also won the bronze medal in the GS at the 2011 Championships in Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

Tessa Worley won the Giant Slalom in Killington back in 2016.

Lara Gut-Behrami claimed 4 of her 34 World Cup wins in the Giant Slalom.

The triple-medal winner in Cortina, -she won the world titles in the Super-G and Giant slalom and the bronze medal in the Downhill-, with 34 victories is in ninth place on the all-time women's list for most World Cup wins in all events.

She was on the podium 65 times in the World Cup, fourteen of them in Giant Slalom.

Gut-Behrami's won the gold medal in Giant Slalom in Cortina 2021. She became the most decorated Swiss woman in world championships history. She has won eight medals in total at the world championships 2 Gold (Cortina 2021, SG and GS) 3 Silver (Val d'Isere 2009, SG and SComb.; Schladming, SG), and 3 bronze (Vail-Beaver Creek 2015, DH; St. Moritz 2017, SG; and Cortina 2021, DH).

Lara Gut-Behrami claims her first Olympic Giant Slalom medal in Beijing 2022. Lara Gut-Behrami rounded out the Olympic podium after a consistent second run, and despite a mistake in the upper section, she was able to set the best time in the second run climbing from 8th to 3rd place. It was her third Olympic medal. She won Super-G gold also in Beijing 2022, and Downhill bronze in Sochi in 2014.

Lara Gut-Behrami was the last Swiss woman to win a World Cup Giant Slalom event back in Sölden in October 2016. Her best results in Killington were a 19th place in 2018 and again in 2019.

In the last World Cup Giant Slalom before the Finals in Courchevel Slovakia's Petra Vlhova emerge victorious for the first time in the season. One year after her last win in the Giant Slalom in Jasna, in Åre, in the same place she won gold in 2019, Vlhova put on a show of strength and determination on an extremely demanding slope and difficult course setting, especially in the first run.

Petra Vlhova has claimed the first ever World Championships gold medal for Slovakia at the 2019 FIS Alpine World Ski Championships in Åre (SWE) in the Giant Slalom event.

Six of her 26 victories in the World Cup came in the Giant Slalom, and 14 of her 57 podiums were also in this discipline.

Vlhova's best result at Killington in the Giant Slalom was a 6th place in 2019.

Last season, Federica Brignone earned her first Giant Slalom win at the Courchevel-Meribel 2022 Finals. After being second in the first run, Brignone skied a solid second run to beat teammate Marta Bassino by 0.31 seconds. Petra Vlhova rounded up today's podium in third place, +0.37 seconds behind Brignone. The 32-year-old celebrated her 20th World Cup victory.

Italian women won at least one World Cup Giant Slalom event in each of the last seven seasons (2015-2016 to 2021-2022).

Brignone achieved eight of her 20 World Cup victories in Giant Slalom. Also 26 of her 49 podiums came in the same discipline.

Back in 2020 Federica Brignone Grabs the Overall, Giant Slalom, and Alpine Combined Globes. Brignone can be proud to be the first Italian woman to conquer the Overall Globe. Brignone joined the Italian-Overall club composed by Piero Gros, Gustav Thoeni and Alberto Tomba on the Men's field.

Federica Brignone finished in second place in the Giant Slalom at Beijing 2022, earning her second Olympic medal, after winning Bronze in the same discipline at Pyeongchang 2018.

Federica Brignone claimed the silver medal in Giant Salom at the 2011 Championships in Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

Federica Brignone won the Giant Slalom in Killington in 2018 and finished in second place in 2019.

Sara Hector claimed six World Cup podiums in the Giant Slalom last season, including wins in Courchevel, Kranjska Gora, and Kronplatz. The Swede had collected three podiums in her first 76 Alpine Ski World Cup Giant Slalom participations combined.

Her injury deprived her to become the second Swedish winner of the Women's Giant Slalom crystal globe, after Anja Pärson (2002-2003, 2003-2004, 2005-2006).

Hector won the Olympic Giant Slalom gold in Beijing.

Sara Hector best result in Killington was a 6th place on the Slalom last season. On the Giant Slalom her best position was a 22nd place in 2018.


bottom of page