top of page
  • Writer's pictureRaúl Revuelta

Garmisch-Partenkirchen Night Slalom Preview

Updated: Jan 25

With the Night Slalom on January 4, 2023, the Men's Alpine Ski World Cup will welcome the New Year in Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

Garmisch-Partenkirchen. the former twin cities "under the Zugspitze", is one of the most famous ski resorts of the whole alpine region. The Bavarian town hosted the Olympic Winter Games in 1936, the Arlberg Kandahar races since 1954, the FIS Ski World Cups since 1970, the FIS Alpine World Ski Championships in 1978 and 2011, and the FIS Alpine Junior World Ski Championships in 2009. For that reason, Garmisch-Partenkirchen is been considered the cradle of ski racing in Germany.

January 4th Slalom / Men. 1st run 15:40 - 2nd run 18:45 CET

Racecourse facts:

  • Start Elevation: 942 m

  • Finish Elevation: 735 m

  • Vertical Drop: 207 m

  • Distance: 655 m

  • Max. slope: 58 %

The Gudiberg hill is situated next to the ski jump in Garmisch-Partenkirchen and is one of the steepest and most difficult slalom slopes in the Alpine World Cup.

Last season Henrik Kristoffersen achieved two victories in Garmisch in the two saloms held in the Bavarian Town.

In the first race Kristoffersen made two solid runs and despite worsening course conditions in the second one, he was able to finish at the top of the podium. Until then, the only Norwegian man to finish on a World Cup slalom podium in Garmisch-Partenkirchen was Kjetil André Aamodt, who finished in second place back in 1993.

Loic Meillard finished in second place, +0,14 seconds behind the Norwegian.

Manuel Feller, who finished in 5th place the first run, rounded out the podium, +0,51 seconds behind Kristoffersen.

The day after Henrik Kristoffersen was again at the top of the podium and claimed his fourth World Cup victory of the season in the second Slalom held in Garmisch.

Thanks to a solid and tactical second run, Kristoffersen was able to climb up, from the 8th position of the first run to the top of the podium.

Dave Ryding, Kitzbuhel's Slalom winner, finished in the second position +0.35 seconds behind the Norwegian.

Linus Strasser rounded out the podium in third, +0.47 seconds behind Kristoffersen.


bottom of page