top of page
  • Writer's pictureRaúl Revuelta

Courchevel-Méribel 2023 Team Event Preview

Updated: Feb 13, 2023

The 47th Alpine World Ski Championships in Méribel and Courchevel continues on Tuesday with the Mixed Team Event.

The best 16 nations on the overall World Cup Nations Cup standing after the last World Cup race, prior to the Team Event, are qualified.

Teams are made up of 6 competitors (4 team members and 2 substitutes), including 3 men and 3 women. The race will be conducted as a Parallel event. The course is laid out with Giant Slalom gates.

Tuesday, February 14. 12:15 CET Team Event

National Teams: Switzerland, Austria, Norway, Italy, United States of America, France, Germany, Canada, Slovenia, Sweden, Slovakia, Poland, Czechia, Belgium, Denmark, and Latvia.

Schladming 2013 1. Austria 2. Sweden 3. Germany

Vail / Beaver Creek 2015 1. Austria 2. Canada 3. Sweden

St. Moritz 2017 1. France 2. Slovakia 3. Sweden

Åre 2019 1. Switzerland 2. Austria 3. Italy

Cortina 2021 1. Norway 2. Sweden 3. Germany

In Cortina 2021 Norway earned its first-ever medal in a FIS Alpine World Ski Championship Mixed Team Event, striking gold in an action-packed race.

Norway edged Sweden in the Big Final in a nail-biter that saw a rare re-run as Norwegian Sebastian Foss Solevaag and Swede Kristoffer Jakobsen came close to colliding in their round, causing the jury to issue the order for the re-run.

Foss Solevaag came through big in the re-run, earning the rare victory on the blue course, which proved to be the difference between gold and silver.

The silver medal gives Sweden more medals in the mixed team event than any other nation in the history of the event, only missing the podium twice since 2005. Today was a bit of redemption for the Swedes as one of the two times they missed the podium was in 2019 on home snow in Åre 2019.

Germany won the bronze medal by a razor-thin margin against Switzerland. Switzerland entered the Event as the defending World Champion, but the switch from the mixed team event being staged as a Giant Slalom meant there weren’t many familiar faces on the Swiss squad to defend that title. In fact, all three medalists from 2019, Switzerland, Austria, and Italy, failed to make the podium again in Cortina 2021.

bottom of page