top of page
  • Writer's pictureRaúl Revuelta

Alpine Ski World Cup 2023-2024 Giant Slalom Winner Lara Gut-Behrami

Lara Gut-Behrami
Lara Gut-Behrami. 2024 World Cup Giant Slalom Winner. Picture: GEPA Pictures / HEAD Ski

Lara Gut-Behrami finished in 10th position in the last race held in Saalbach, enough to secure the Giant Slalom and Overall Crystal Globes. It's her first Giant Slalom title.

Gut-Behrami became the first woman representing Switzerland to win the Giant Slalom Crystal Globe since Sonja Nef in 2001-2002.

Five Swiss women had won the Giant Slalom Crystal Globe before Gut-Behrami. Vreni Schneider is the record winner in this discipline with five Globes (1985-1986, 1986-1987, 1988-1989,1990-1991, and 1994-1995). Lise-Marie Morerod (1975-1976, 1976-1977, and 1977-1978), Erika Hess (1983-1984), Maria Walliser (1986-1987), and Sonja Nef (2000-2001, and 2001-2002).

Switzerland claims both the male and female Giant Slalom titles in a single season for the first time since Vreni Schneider and Pirmin Zurbriggen claimed it in the 1988-1989 winter season.

The 32-year-old Swiss has competed in eleven Giant Slalom World Cup events this season, and finished on the podium in seven, including four wins (Sölden, Killington, Kronplatz, and Soldeu). until Saalbach, her worst result this season was sixth place in Lienz and Jasna. She records four wins in a discipline in a single World Cup season for the third time, following four Super-G victories in 2013-2014, and 2020-2021.

Lara Gut-Behrami Giant Slalom
Lara Gut-Behrami. 2023-2024 Giant Slalom results

Gut-Behrami became the fourth Swiss woman to claim at least four World Cup Giant Slalom wins in a single season, after Vreni Schneider (6 in 1988-1989), Sonja Nef (6 in 2000-2001), and Lise-Marie Morerod (5 in 1976-1977).

Lara Gut-Behrami. Giant Slalom Crystal Globe
Lara Gut-Behrami. Saalbach Press Conference. Picture: Ski Paradise


bottom of page