top of page
  • Writer's pictureRaúl Revuelta

Alpine Ski World Cup 2022-2023. Super-G Winners Lara Gut-Behrami and Marco Odermatt

Updated: Jan 4

Lara Gut-Behrami and Marco Odermatt were the winners of the Super-G discipline in the Alpine Ski World Cup 2022-2023.

Lara Gut-Behrami wins Alpine Ski Crystal Globe in the Super-G
Lara Gut-Behrami. 2023 Super-G Crystal Globe Winner. Picture: GEPA Pictures / HEAD Ski

Lara Gut-Behrami won the last Super-G of the season at the Finals in Soldeu and grabs the Crystal Globe. Gut-Behrami clinched her 37th World Cup victory, the 3rd this season, with a clean and technically perfect run.

It was the fourth time that the 31-year-old Swiss has won the Super-G Crystal Globe after winning the title of the speed discipline in 2013-2014, 2015-2016 and 2020-2021. Only Katja Seizinger and Lindsey Vonn, five times each, have won the Super-G Crystal Globe more times.

The 2022 Olympic champion has won 19 Super-G World races, second-most behind Lindsey Vonn (28). This season she was on the Super-G podium four times (St. Anton I and II, Kvitfjell, and Soldeu). She also won the second Super-G race held in St. Anton on January 15.

Gut-Behrami also won Gold in this discipline at both the 2022 Olympic Games in Beijing and the 2021 World Championships in Cortina.

The winner of the Super-G Crystal Globe Marco Odermatt won the last speed race of the season at the Finals in Soldeu El Tarter.

Marco Odermatt has been the absolute dominator of the discipline. He won six of the eight Men's World Cup Super-G races this season (Lake Louise, Bormio, Cortina d'Amppezo I and II, Aspen, and Soldeu) and finished on the podium in the other two, second in Beaver Creek, and third in Wengen. He is the only skier - male or female - to win six World Cup Super-G races in a single season.

Odermatt has recorded 15 podium finishes in his last 18 participations in super-G races in the World Cup.

The 25-year-old Swiss Ace has equaled the Men's record for most successive World Cup victories in the Super-G: four by Hermann Maier in the 1997-1998 and 1998-1999 seasons, and by Aksel Lund Svindal from December 2012 to December 2013.

He is also the fifth man to win at least 10 World Cup Super-G World Cup races, after Hermann Maier (24), Aksel Lund Svindal (17), Kjetil Jansrud (13), and Pirmin Zurbriggen (10).

He has won 13 World Cup events this season. Only three men had also won 13 races in a single season: Ingemar Stenmark in 1978-1979 (13), Hermann Maier in 2000-2001 (13) and Marcel Hirscher in 2017-2018 (13).


bottom of page