top of page
  • Writer's pictureRaúl Revuelta

100 Days To Go Until The 2023 FIS World Alpine Ski Championhips in Courchevel-Méribel

Updated: Oct 27, 2022

The 47th Alpine World Ski Championships will be held in Méribel and Courchevel from February 6th to 19th.

After the Olympic Games, this is the most important event in the world of skiing. The Alpine Ski World Championships bring together in one place the best skiers in all disciplines, male and female , for two weeks.

For the fourth time in history, after Chamonix (1937 and 1962) and Val d’Isère (2009), the World Championships will be held in the heart of the French Alps.

Courchevel Méribel 2023 will bring together 75 nations, 600 athletes and up to 150,000 spectators. 500 million television viewers will follow the competitions thanks to the 1800 accredited media and the more than 1000 hours of broadcasting. Nearly 25,000 spectators are expected in the finish areas or along the slopes.

The Alpine World Ski Championships is the most important event in alpine ski racing and are held every two years. Six disciplines are on the programme in Courchevel Méribel 2023: Downhill, Super-G, Giant Slalom, Slalom, Combined, and Parallel Slalom.

For the first time in the history of the World Championships, the events will take place on two competition sites.

The Roc de Fer piste in Méribel, designed for the 1992 Winter Olympics and since reshaped to meet the standards set by the International Ski Federation (FIS), will be the venue for the women’s competitions and also for the parallel slalom events.

The Men’s competitions will take place on l’Éclipse. First used for the 2022 World Cup Finals, this new piste requires a combination of commitment, technical mastery and speed. Snaking vertically down the mountain, and located in an exceptional setting, L’Éclipse is unique in character. The downhill is already shaping up to be one of the highlights of these World Championships.

Defending Champions on the Men's side are Vincent Kriechmayr (Downhill and Super-G), Mathieu Faivre (Giant Slalom and Parallel), Sebastian Foss-Solevåg (Slalom), and Marco Schwarz (Alpine Combined). On the Women's side Corinne Suter (Downhill), Lara Gut-Behrami (Super-G and Giant Slalom), Katharina Liensberger (Slalom), Mikaela Shiffrin (Alpine Combined), and Marta Bassino / Katharina Liensberger (Parallel) are the ones to fight to retain the title.


bottom of page